Skip to Main Content
Midtown Improvement District

Midtown Improvement District:
Putting Your Investment to Work

Established in the spring of 2000, the Midtown Improvement District (MID) is a self-taxing district created by Midtown commercial property owners to augment public resources and catalyze economic growth in Midtown.

The MID is funded by Midtown property owners through a special assessment paid on commercial property.  The annual millage rate, currently set at 5 mils, is voted on by the MID board each year. The MID addresses issues of importance to property owners, including local capital projects and programs aimed at improving and sustaining Midtown’s competitive edge and quality of life.  The MID has played a pivotal role in implementing the Blueprint, a master plan envisioned by the community and spearheaded by Midtown Alliance. 

The MID’s work is further enhanced through its strong partnership with the Midtown Alliance. Midtown Alliance provides the staff and day-to-day management and operations for MID funded programs and projects.  More than $100M has been raised to date through MID contributions leveraging public and private grants.    

The MID is governed by a nine-person board of directors elected by property owners, with three members appointed by the Mayor and President of the Atlanta City Council. 

Work Session
Members of the board will meet for a work session at 11am on February 28, 2023 at 999 Peachtree Street NE, 5th Floor Conference Room.

Advertisement of 2022 Midtown Improvement District Proposed Millage Rate
Click here to view the announcement of the Midtown CID proposed current year millage rate and five-year summary (posted July 8, 2021).

Notice of Midtown Community Improvement District Election
Click here to view the notice of the Midtown CID election for 2022. The ad published on March 28, 2022 about the elections can be viewed here. 


2023 Board of Directors

Kurt Hartman – Chair
Senior Managing Director
Hines Interests

John McColl – Vice Chair
Executive Vice President
Cousins Properties 

Andre Anderson
First Vice President & COO
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

The Hon. Amir Farokhi
Council Member
District 2, Atlanta City Council

Josh Gately — Treasurer
Development Manager
Portman Holdings, LLC

Lisa Harris
Senior Vice President
Turner Properties Inc. - Warner Media 

Malloy Peterson
Senior Vice President
Selig Enterprises

Scott A. Specht
Retired Partner
Jones Day

Kevin Green – Secretary
President & CEO
Midtown Alliance

J. Lynn Rainey, P.C. – Legal Counsel
Principal, Attorney at Law
Rainey & Vaughan LLC