Skip to Main Content

Vänskä Conducts Prokofiev + Sibelius

Category: Event Calendar

Date and Time for this Past Event


visit website


"Alexander Melnikov's performance [of Prokofiev] was not just compelling; it was nothing short of revelatory." (Bachtrack)

The acclaimed Finnish conductor Osmo Vänskä makes a much anticipated first performance with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra for a program of piquant rarities, beginning with the spooky and beguiling Transitions by Michigan-based conductor and composer Henry Dorn. The Orchestra welcomes Russian music specialist Alexander Melnikov to play the Everest of piano concertos—the Piano Concerto No. 2 by Sergei Prokofiev. Then Maestro Vänskä shines the spotlight on the extraordinary musicians of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in the folk-inspired Symphony No. 3 by his fellow Finn Jean Sibelius.