Skip to Main Content
Midtown Improvement District

Midtown Improvement District:
Putting Your Investment to Work

Established in the spring of 2000, the Midtown Improvement District (MID) is a self-taxing district created by Midtown commercial property owners to augment public resources and catalyze economic growth in Midtown.

The MID is funded by Midtown property owners through a special assessment paid on commercial property.  The annual millage rate, currently set at 5 mils, is voted on by the MID board each year. The MID addresses issues of importance to property owners, including local capital projects and programs aimed at improving and sustaining Midtown’s competitive edge and quality of life.  The MID has played a pivotal role in implementing the Blueprint, a master plan envisioned by the community and spearheaded by Midtown Alliance. 

The MID’s work is further enhanced through its strong partnership with the Midtown Alliance. Midtown Alliance provides the staff and day-to-day management and operations for MID funded programs and projects.  More than $100M has been raised to date through MID contributions leveraging public and private grants.    

The MID is governed by a nine-person board of directors elected by property owners, with three members appointed by the Mayor and President of the Atlanta City Council.

2024 Board of Directors

Kurt Hartman – Chair
Senior Managing Director
Hines Interests

John McColl – Vice Chair
Executive Vice President
Cousins Properties 

Andre Anderson
First Vice President & COO
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Dr. Annie Adams
EVP & Chief Transformation Officer
Norfolk Southern

The Hon. Amir Farokhi
Council Member
District 2, Atlanta City Council

Josh Gately — Treasurer
Development Manager
Portman Holdings, LLC

Lisa Harris
Senior Vice President
Turner Properties Inc. - Warner Media 

Malloy Peterson
Senior Vice President
Selig Enterprises

Scott A. Specht
Retired Partner
Jones Day

Kevin Green – Secretary
President & CEO
Midtown Alliance

J. Lynn Rainey, P.C. – Legal Counsel
Principal, Attorney at Law
Rainey & Vaughan LLC